News & Press: Advocacy News

WAND Government Affairs May 2018 E-Newsletter

Friday, May 18, 2018  
Share |

WAND Government Affairs May 2018 E-Newsletter

Legislators of the Year

This past April, WAND leadership recognized two (one from the State Senate and one from the Assembly) legislators as the 2018 WAND Legislators of the Year. They were State Representative Joan Ballweg (R – Markesan) and State Senator Patrick Testin (R – Stevens Point) for their work on Senate Bill 385.

SB 385 (2017 Wisconsin Act 101) allows attending physicians in long-term care facilities to delegate order-writing authority for modified and therapeutic diets to registered dietitians. This was one of our top priorities this session and this bill would not have become law without their advocacy and leadership.

Rep. Ballweg was presented with her award at the WAND Annual Conference on Wednesday, April 11th and Sen. Testin received his award in his Capitol office on Wednesday, April 25th. Press releases and photos were distributed to each legislator’s local newspapers and stories were featured on WAND’s website and social media.

We are very pleased with the work we accomplished with Rep. Ballweg and Sen. Testin this session, and we look forward to working with them more in the future!


The November elections will be here in less than six months. That means WANDPAC is gearing up to make contributions in the upcoming election cycle. We have made great progress toward our goal but we need your help!

We have already used WANDPAC funds for our lobbyist to attend campaign events and will be distributing campaign contributions to legislators who were helpful to WAND this past legislative session. WANDPAC is an important part of our legislative advocacy and allows us to support candidates who share WAND’s policy goals and vision for the dietetics profession. Your contributions help increase WAND’s access to lawmakers, which ultimately gives WAND a stronger voice on nutrition and healthcare policies at the State Capitol.

Not sure if or when you donated?  Go to the WAND website, log in, click on “Manage Profile” under “My Profile” (to the right) and you’ll find a confidential listing of your “Donations” under “Invoicing, Payments and History.”  To make an online donation now, click here.

2019 - 2020 Legislative Priorities

WAND had a very successful 2017-2018 legislative session. Our goal is to continue that success into the next legislative session, and we would like input from you!

Are there dietetics issues that need to be addressed from a legislative standpoint? Please share your thoughts and ideas with us as we identify our legislative priorities and plan our strategies over the coming months.

2019 – 2021 State Budget Process Underway

While it seems like we just finished a budget cycle in Wisconsin, the next one is already officially underway. On Friday, May 11th, Governor Scott Walker issued a memo to state agency leadership that highlighted legislative goals and priorities. It also directed all state agencies to propose 2019-2021 budgets to be held at zero growth or with a five percent reduction to the base.

Agency requests are due to the Governor’s office in September. Once they are reviewed by the Governor and staff, the Governor releases a budget proposal in February 2019, which then goes through the legislative process and it typically completed by June 30th.

Jacque and Plumer Win Primaries

On Tuesday, May 15th, Republican voters in the 1st Senate District and 42nd Assembly District went to the polls to decide who will be the Republican nominee in the June 12th special elections.

In late March, Dane County Circuit Court Judge Josann Reynolds ruled Walker must call special elections in the legislative districts. Both seats have been vacant since December when former Senator Frank Lasee and former Representative Keith Ripp both resigned from the legislature to take positions in the Walker administration.

In the 1st Senate District, State Representative Andre Jacque (R – De Pere) defeated Green Bay resident and factory manager Alex Renard with 52% of the vote. Rep. Jacque will now face Sturgeon Bay Democrat Caleb Frostman, former Executive Director of the Door County Economic Development Corporation on June 12th.

Whoever wins June 12th will not have long to enjoy the victory, as the incumbent will be on the ballot again on November 6th. The 1st Senate District includes Door and Kewaunee counties, as well as portions of Brown, Calumet and Outagamie counties.

In the 42nd Assembly District, Lodi Republican Jon Plumer easily won with more than 70% of the vote in a four-way primary. Plumer will face Lodi Democrat Ann Groves Lloyd and Pardeeville Independent Gene Rubenstein on June 12th.  

Just like the 1st Senate District, the victor on June 12th will not have much time to savor the win as he or she will need to run to retain the seat in November. The 42nd Assembly District includes portions of Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac and Green Lake counties.

Timeline for Other 2018 Elections

Friday, June 1st – Due date for nomination papers for general elections.

Tuesday, August 14th – Wisconsin statewide primary.

Tuesday, November 6th – Wisconsin statewide general election.

Legislative Retirements

Every session brings some level of turnover to the State Legislature. This cycle is no different with members in both houses and on both sides of the aisle announcing retirement. The following individuals announced they are not seeking re-election:

·         Andre Jacque (R- De Pere), 2nd Assembly District – Running for State Senate.

·         Dale Kooyenga (R - Brookfield), 14th Assembly District – Running for State Senate.

·         Adam Jarchow (R – Balsam Lake), 28th Assembly District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Joel Kleefisch (R – Oconomowoc), 38th Assembly District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Jesse Kremer (R - Kewaskum), 59th Assembly District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Tom Weatherston (R – Caledonia), 62nd Assembly District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Kathy Bernier (R – Chippewa Falls), 68th Assembly District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Terese Berceau (D - Madison), 77th Assembly District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Eric Genrich (D – Green Bay), 90th Assembly District – Running for Mayor of Green Bay.

·         Dana Wachs (D – Eau Claire), 91st Assembly District – Running for Governor.

·         Lee Nerison (R – Westby), 96th Assembly District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Leah Vukmir (R - Brookfield), 5th Senate District – Running for U.S. Senate.

·         Terry Moulton (R – Chippewa Falls), 23rd Senate District – Not seeking re-election.

·         Kathleen Vinehout (D - Alma), 31st Senate District – Running for Governor.